Before Grill-Bar-Eethuisje De Griffel became a fact, there was a nice story about it. From 1898 the building served as a school with the Bible. The name was the Queen Wilhelmina School, and was the first in the Netherlands.
The school was in use until 1971. When a new school was opened, the building was empty for a while.
It was Grandma Wilhelmina who got the idea to convert the old school into a catering company. The necessary catering documents had to be obtained first. When the building was bought and they had the papers in their pockets, the adventure could begin. The whole family started to make something of the old school building that was unique in Ameland at that time.
Many hours have gone by, but when the doors opened, a lot has happened that many Amelander and visitor will have nice memories of. Grandpa and Oma handed over the business to their son Gerardus, who in turn did it to us. Grandpa and grandmother have seen it all, but unfortunately no longer live. We hope that we will continue their work for many years to come!